What this indicates ? Any Risk or not to worry about ? Please anybody guide me..!?

Posted on January 31st, 2010 by admin

Hello everyone,
Today I tried to download a song from a popular website, so instead of getting song downloaded , a page opened in my browser within few seconds which included following instructions :
"
Great Success !
Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server
If you can see this page, then the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM) which use the Apache Web server software and the Apache Interface to OpenSSL (mod_ssl) successfully. They now have to add content to this directory and replace this placeholder page, or else point the server at their real content.

ATTENTION!
If you are seeing this page instead of the site you expected, please contact the administrator of the site involved. (Try sending an email to <webmaster@domain>.) Although this site is running cPanel, WebHost Manager, and Apache software it almost certainly has no other connection to cPanel Inc. or the Apache Group. Please do not send mail about this site or its contents to cPanel Inc. or the Apache Group.

About cPanel:
cPanel is a leading provider of software for the webhosting industry. If you would like to learn more about cPanel please visit our website at http://www.cpanel.net/. Please be advised that cPanel Inc. is not a web hosting company, and as such has no control over content found elsewhere on this site.

About Apache HTTP Server:
The Apache HTTP Server is an open source web server which powers many of the worlds web sites. The Apache HTTP server is part of the Apache Group’s many influential projects. Their efforts have helped shape much the world wide web, and they continue to be a dominating force in the web hosting industry.
"

Now what this above message shows ? Does it make any harm to my PC ? I felt without any permission some thing has happened.I am having little idea about such matter. So please anybody help me to understand it.
Hoping for quick help.
Thank you.!
:)

Hi, it sounds harmless and that the problem was with the website.

To be safe you could download and run spybot (http://www.safer-networking.org/index2.html ), which is a great utility that scans your system for spyware or other malicious software. If you use Internet Explorer a lot, you may get a high number of results if it is the first time you are doing a scan.

3 Responses

  1. Dumb Brain Says:

    This message happens when there is a broken link in a website which is hoisted on a Apache server. This is just a geeky info.

    You don’t have to panic. You are safe :)
    References :

  2. Ronkun Says:

    Most likely an error just happened or spyware may have breached your pc
    References :

  3. gruntmaster9000 Says:

    Hi, it sounds harmless and that the problem was with the website.

    To be safe you could download and run spybot (http://www.safer-networking.org/index2.html ), which is a great utility that scans your system for spyware or other malicious software. If you use Internet Explorer a lot, you may get a high number of results if it is the first time you are doing a scan.
    References :
    IT geek

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

|
  • Categories

  • Pages

  • Tags

  • Archives

  • Meta

  •